Ryanair cabin bag size

Ryanair’s free small personal bag can be up to 40 × 30 × 20 cm (15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 in). A large cabin bag up to 55 × 40 × 20 cm (21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in) and 10 kg costs extra.

Checked against the airlines’ websites on

Ryanair
Large cabin bag
55 × 40 × 20 cm≈about 21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 inPaid extra, up to 10 kg (22 lb)
Small personal bag
40 × 30 × 20 cm≈about 15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 inIncluded
Checked bag
10, 20 or 23 kg bags
First checked bag
10 kg €/£10.49–€/£44.99; 20 kg €/£21.49–€/£59.99
Ryanair’s cabin bag limits drawn to scalePaid cabin bag55 cm≈ 21.7 in40 cm≈ 15.7 in20 cm≈ 7.9 inUnder the seat40 cm≈ 15.7 in30 cm≈ 11.8 in20 cm≈ 7.9 in

Large cabin bag

Size
55 × 40 × 20 cm≈about 21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in
Weight
10 kg≈about 22 lb
Wheels and handles
Not stated
With your fare
Paid extra

Comes with Priority & 2 Cabin Bags: €/£12.49–€/£36 while booking, €/£19.99–€/£45.50 later.

  • Regular and Flexi Plus fares include Priority & 2 Cabin Bags.
  • Without it, a bag over 55 × 40 × 20 cm at the gate is refused or put in the hold for €/£70–€/£75.

Which other airlines take a 55 × 40 × 20 cm bag

Small personal bag

Size
40 × 30 × 20 cm≈about 15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 in
Weight
None published
Wheels and handles
Not stated
With your fare
Included in every fare
  • Every passenger gets one free, apart from infants on a parent’s lap.

Which other airlines take a 40 × 30 × 20 cm bag

Compare every airline’s under-seat limit on the personal item page.

Checked bags

Weight
10, 20 or 23 kg bags
  • The 10 kg check-in bag goes to the bag-drop desk before security and comes back on the baggage belt.
  • Bought at the airport bag drop, a 20 kg bag costs €/£59.99.

Bag fees

First checked bag: 10 kg €/£10.49–€/£44.99; 20 kg €/£21.49–€/£59.99. Prices while booking, by route and date.

  • A 23 kg bag costs €/£28.99–€/£80.99 while booking. Every bag costs more if added after booking.

Bag fees compared across airlines

The cheapest fare, power banks and pets on Ryanair

Ryanair next to other UK and European airlines

Carry-on limits: Ryanair and other UK and European airlines
AirlineCarry-on / cabin bagWeightIncluded?Personal item
Ryanair55 × 40 × 20 cm≈about 21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in10 kg≈about 22 lbPaid extra40 × 30 × 20 cm≈about 15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 in
easyJet56 × 45 × 25 cm≈about 22 × 17.7 × 9.8 in15 kg≈about 33 lbPaid extra45 × 36 × 20 cm≈about 17.7 × 14.2 × 7.9 in
British Airways56 × 45 × 25 cm22 × 18 × 10 inNone publishedIncluded40 × 30 × 15 cm16 × 12 × 6 in
Wizz Air55 × 40 × 23 cm≈about 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in10 kg≈about 22 lbPaid extra40 × 30 × 20 cm≈about 15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 in
Jet256 × 45 × 25 cm≈about 22 × 17.7 × 9.8 in10 kg≈about 22 lbIncluded40 × 30 × 20 cm≈about 15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 in

Wheels and handles: not stated for Ryanair. Every airline drawn to scale

Questions

What size cabin bag does Ryanair allow?

Ryanair’s large cabin bag can be up to 55 × 40 × 20 cm (21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in). Comes with Priority & 2 Cabin Bags: €/£12.49–€/£36 while booking, €/£19.99–€/£45.50 later. Every fare includes a small personal bag up to 40 × 30 × 20 cm (15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 in).

How big can a personal item be on Ryanair?

Up to 40 × 30 × 20 cm (15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 in). It has to fit under the seat in front of you.

Is there a weight limit for cabin bags on Ryanair?

The large cabin bag can weigh up to 10 kg (22 lb).

How heavy can a checked bag be on Ryanair?

Ryanair sells 10, 20 or 23 kg bags.

How much is a checked bag on Ryanair?

First bag: 10 kg €/£10.49–€/£44.99; 20 kg €/£21.49–€/£59.99 (Prices while booking, by route and date). A 23 kg bag costs €/£28.99–€/£80.99 while booking. Every bag costs more if added after booking.

Sources

  1. Ryanair: General Terms and Conditions of Carriage, Article 8: Baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
  2. Ryanair: Fees (checked 28 October 2026)
  3. Ryanair: Does Ryanair carry animals? (checked 28 October 2026)
  4. Ryanair: Guide and assistance dogs (checked 28 October 2026)
  5. Ryanair: What items are permitted on board? (checked 28 October 2026)
  6. Ryanair: What are Ryanair’s fare bundle options? (checked 28 October 2026)

Airline rules change. Spotted a figure that no longer matches the airline’s website? Tell us; corrections are logged on the sources page.

Other airlines