Power bank rules by airline
Every airline here keeps power banks in the cabin, never in checked bags. 13 of the 28 ban using one to charge a device during the flight, 20 ban charging it from seat power, and 19 keep it out of the overhead bin. Most allow two, up to 100 Wh each without approval.
Checked against the airlines’ websites on
Power banks, airline by airline
“Use in flight” is charging a phone or laptop from the power bank; “charge on board” is charging the power bank itself from seat power. “Not stated” means the airline’s pages don’t say, not that it’s allowed.
| Airline | How many | Size limit | Use in flight | Charge on board | Overhead bin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Allowed | Banned | Banned |
| Delta Air Lines | 2 | 100 Wh | Allowed | Banned | Banned |
| United Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Not stated | Banned | Banned |
| Southwest Airlines | 1 | 100 Wh | Allowed | Banned | Banned |
| JetBlue | 2 | 100 Wh | Banned | Banned | Banned |
| Alaska Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Allowed | Banned | Banned |
| Frontier Airlines | Not set | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Allegiant Air | Not set | 100 Wh | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Hawaiian Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Allowed | Banned | Banned |
| Sun Country Airlines | Not set | 160 Wh | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Breeze Airways | Not set | 100 Wh | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Avelo Airlines | Not set | 160 Wh | Allowed | Not stated | Not stated |
| Airline | How many | Size limit | Use in flight | Charge on board | Overhead bin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Air Canada | Not set | 100 Wh160 Wh with approval | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| WestJet | 1 | Not stated | Limited | Banned | Banned |
| Airline | How many | Size limit | Use in flight | Charge on board | Overhead bin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ryanair | 2 | 100 Wh | Allowed | Banned | Banned |
| easyJet | 2 | 160 Wh | Banned | Not stated | Not stated |
| British Airways | 2 | 100 Wh | Not stated | Banned | Banned |
| Wizz Air | 1 | 100 Wh | Banned | Banned | Banned |
| Jet2 | 2 | 160 Wh | Banned | Banned | Banned |
| Airline | How many | Size limit | Use in flight | Charge on board | Overhead bin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AirAsia | 2 | 100 Wh | Banned | Banned | Banned |
| Malaysia Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh160 Wh with approval | Banned | Banned | Banned |
| Batik Air Malaysia | 2 | 100 Wh | Banned | Not stated | Banned |
| Singapore Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh160 Wh with approval | Banned | Banned | Banned |
| Scoot | 2 | 100 Wh160 Wh with approval | Banned | Banned | Banned |
| Cathay Pacific | 2 | 100 Wh | Banned | Banned | Banned |
| Airline | How many | Size limit | Use in flight | Charge on board | Overhead bin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jetstar Airways | 2 | 100 Wh160 Wh with approval | Banned | Banned | Not stated |
| Qantas | 2 | 100 Wh160 Wh with approval | Banned | Banned | Not stated |
| Virgin Australia | 2 | 160 Wh | Banned | Banned | Banned |
The rules in full
Where to keep it, how to pack it, and the dates new rules began, from each airline’s own pages.
United States
American Airlines: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; can charge your devices in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Cabin only, never in checked bags.
- Keep it within reach, and in sight while you use it: in a personal item under the seat or in the seatback pocket.
- Not in overhead bins or other enclosed spaces.
- Large power banks and lithium-ion generators (EcoFlow, Jackery, Bluetti and the like) aren’t allowed at all.
Delta Air Lines: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; can charge your devices in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Cabin only.
- No more than 100 Wh each, with no exceptions.
- Don’t use one to charge a device during taxi, take-off or landing.
- Keep it where you can reach it: under the seat in front of you or in the seatback pocket.
United Airlines: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; not in the overhead bin
- Cabin only. No power banks in checked bags, and take them out of a carry-on that’s checked at the gate.
- Keep them on you or in your personal item during the flight.
- Lithium-ion batteries are limited to 100 Wh, but up to two of 101–160 Wh can go in a carry-on. United doesn’t say whether that covers power banks or needs approval.
- Recalled power banks, such as the Ubio and the VRURC OBO_B7, aren’t allowed.
From Portable chargers, vapes and electronic devices, Dangerous items. All United bag rules.
Southwest Airlines: 1 per person, up to 100 Wh; can charge your devices in flight; not in the overhead bin
- One power bank per passenger, from 20 April 2026.
- Cabin only, never in checked bags.
- Keep it in a personal item under the seat in front of you, and in sight, not in a bag, while you use it.
- If you have a smart bag, take the battery out before the bag goes in the overhead bin.
From Traveling with lithium batteries, portable chargers and power banks. All Southwest bag rules.
JetBlue: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Carry-on only, never in checked bags.
- Store it under the seat, not in the overhead bin.
- Each one must be protected against short circuits when not in use.
- If your carry-on is checked at the gate, take any spare batteries out of it.
Alaska Airlines: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; can charge your devices in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Power banks over 100 Wh aren’t allowed on Alaska and Hawaiian flights.
- Cabin only, never in checked bags.
- Keep it within arm’s reach, not in the overhead bin or a closet.
- Don’t use it during taxi, take-off or landing.
- Alaska advises against travelling with fully charged batteries and power banks.
From Prohibited and restricted batteries and electronic devices. All Alaska bag rules.
Frontier Airlines: No set number
- Spare lithium batteries aren’t allowed in checked bags. Frontier’s pages give no limit for power banks.
Allegiant Air: No set number, up to 100 Wh
- Spare lithium batteries go in carry-on bags only, each protected from short circuit, up to 20 of them. Allegiant doesn’t name power banks separately.
- Batteries over 160 Wh, and damaged or recalled ones, aren’t carried.
From Restricted articles, Restricted articles list (PDF). All Allegiant bag rules.
Hawaiian Airlines: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; can charge your devices in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Carry-on only; never in checked or gate-checked bags.
- Keep it within arm’s reach, not in the overhead bin or a closet.
- Don’t use it during taxi, takeoff or landing, and don’t charge it from seat power.
- Power banks over 100 Wh aren’t carried on Alaska Air Group flights.
From Prohibited and restricted batteries and electronic devices. All Hawaiian bag rules.
Sun Country Airlines: No set number, up to 160 Wh
- Carry-on only. If your bag is checked at the gate, take spare batteries out.
- Lithium batteries of 101–160 Wh are allowed in carry-on bags; over 160 Wh they’re forbidden.
From Prohibited items and hazardous materials. All Sun Country bag rules.
Breeze Airways: No set number, up to 100 Wh
- Carry-on only, never in checked bags.
From Travel tips for beginners and frequent fliers. All Breeze bag rules.
Avelo Airlines: No set number, up to 160 Wh; can charge your devices in flight
- While it’s charging a device, a power bank must stay visible: not in a bag or the overhead bin.
- Spare lithium batteries go in your carry-on. Take power banks out if your carry-on is gate-checked.
- Up to two batteries of 101–160 Wh are allowed “in most cases”.
- Avelo’s planes have no in-seat power.
From Traveling with lithium batteries and portable chargers, Restricted and prohibited items. All Avelo bag rules.
Canada
Air Canada: No set number, up to 100 Wh (160 Wh with approval)
- Power banks count as spare battery packs. They go in carry-on bags only, up to 20 spare packs per passenger.
- Each must be under 100 Wh. You can bring two of 100–160 Wh if Air Canada airport agents approve them.
- The Anker A1647, Anker Zolo A1681 and Anker Zolo A1689 are banned on board.
- On small aircraft where carry-ons go on the Sky Check cart at the door, take power banks out of the bag and carry them into the cabin.
From Restricted and prohibited items: batteries and personal electronic devices. All Air Canada bag rules.
WestJet: 1 per person; can be used only in some conditions; not in the overhead bin
- One power bank per person. Keep it on you or in the seat pocket, never in the overhead bin or a checked bag.
- It can’t be charged on board, and it can’t be used to charge another device when onboard power is available.
- Since 19 March 2026, anything with a rechargeable battery has to go in your carry-on or personal item.
- Recalled power banks aren’t allowed on WestJet flights.
From Baggage, Restricted and prohibited items. All WestJet bag rules.
UK and Europe
Ryanair: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; can charge your devices in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Up to two power banks, counted within the limit of 20 spare lithium batteries. Nothing over 100 Wh is allowed in the cabin or in checked bags.
- Keep power banks on you or in the small bag under the seat in front, never in a bag in the overhead locker.
- You can charge a device from one, except during taxi, take-off and landing or when the crew says not to. Recharging a power bank on board isn’t allowed, even from another power bank.
- Each must be protected against short circuits: in its retail packaging, with its terminals taped, or in its own plastic bag or pouch.
From What items are permitted on board?. All Ryanair bag rules.
easyJet: 2 per person, up to 160 Wh; can’t be used in flight
- Cabin bags only, never hold luggage.
- Power banks can’t be used on easyJet aircraft or used to charge other devices.
- Each must be individually protected, for example in its retail packaging or a plastic bag.
- easyJet recommends keeping them where you can watch them, ideally on you.
From Dangerous goods and prohibited articles, Restricted and unusual items. All easyJet bag rules.
British Airways: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; not in the overhead bin
- Hand baggage only, never in checked bags. If your cabin bag is checked at the gate, take your power banks out and keep them with you.
- Keep them in the seat pocket or in a bag under the seat in front.
- Seat power is only for charging your devices, not power banks.
- Each must show its capacity rating. You can carry up to four spare batteries in all, and up to two of them can be power banks. BA’s approval form for 100–160 Wh batteries doesn’t cover power banks.
From Restricted and prohibited items. All British Airways bag rules.
Wizz Air: 1 per person, up to 100 Wh; can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- One power bank, within a limit of 20 spare batteries per person. A power bank over 100 Wh, or with no readable Wh rating, is banned.
- Cabin only, never in checked bags. It goes under the seat in front or in the seat-back pocket, not the overhead compartment, and should stay where you can watch it, ideally on you.
- It can’t be used or charged at any point in the flight.
Jet2: 2 per person, up to 160 Wh; can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Hand luggage only, never the hold, and on board that bag goes under the seat in front of you.
- Power banks of 100–160 Wh are approved automatically. A power bank that doesn’t clearly show its Wh rating is banned.
- Each must be protected against short circuit: in its original packaging, in a case or strong plastic bag, or with tape over the terminals.
From Dangerous goods and restricted items, Baggage. All Jet2 bag rules.
Asia
AirAsia: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Cabin baggage only, never in checked baggage.
- Power banks over 100 Wh are not permitted, even with approval. The 100–160 Wh allowance covers other spare batteries only.
- Keep them in the seat pocket or under the seat in front, or on you.
- Using or charging a power bank is banned on all AirAsia flights, whatever its capacity.
- Damaged or defective power banks are refused.
From What items are prohibited from being carried in my baggage. All AirAsia bag rules.
Malaysia Airlines: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh (160 Wh with approval); can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Cabin baggage only, never in checked baggage.
- Keep them with you: in a carry-on bag under the seat, or in the seat pocket. Never in the overhead compartment.
- Keep each one in a separate bag or protective pouch. Damaged, swollen or non-compliant power banks are banned.
- Over 160 Wh is banned outright.
- On interline journeys, the policy of the airline flying the most significant part of the trip applies.
From Additional restrictions. All Malaysia Airlines bag rules.
Batik Air Malaysia: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Power banks must always be carried on your person, not packed in a cabin bag or a checked bag.
- Each must be under 100 Wh and protected against short circuit.
- Using a power bank in the cabin is banned in all circumstances.
Singapore Airlines: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh (160 Wh with approval); can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Cabin baggage only on all SIA flights, never checked. Any power bank beyond two must be stored or disposed of before boarding.
- Keep them within easy reach, in the seat-back pocket or under the seat in front. Not in the overhead compartments.
- For 100–160 Wh, get approval in advance through Singapore Airlines’ form, with a picture of the rating and proof that it passed the UN 38.3 tests.
From General restrictions. All Singapore Airlines bag rules.
Scoot: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh (160 Wh with approval); can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Cabin baggage only. Spare batteries, power banks included, can’t go in checked baggage.
- They can’t go in the overhead compartments.
- You can’t charge a power bank from the in-seat power or USB ports, or use one to charge a device, at any point in the flight.
- For 100–160 Wh, get approval at the Scoot check-in counter on the day of departure.
From Is there a limit to the number of power banks that I can bring onboard Scoot flights?, Baggage allowance, policy and rules. All Scoot bag rules.
Cathay Pacific: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh; can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Under Hong Kong law you can’t charge a power bank from the in-seat power, or use one to charge or power a device.
- Never in checked baggage or the overhead compartment: keep it in your cabin bag under the seat in front.
- Spare batteries, power banks included, must be under 100 Wh and 2 g of lithium.
- These limits apply from 7 April 2025, under Hong Kong Civil Aviation Department rules. The in-seat power can still charge your own devices.
From Spare batteries, Usage of power banks is now restricted on Cathay Pacific flights. All Cathay Pacific bag rules.
Australia
Jetstar Airways: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh (160 Wh with approval); can’t be used in flight
- Carry-on baggage only, never checked.
- Keep them within easy reach during the flight.
- Power banks of 100–160 Wh need approval, which Jetstar’s page says comes from Qantas.
- No more than 20 spare batteries per passenger, power banks included.
Qantas: 2 per person, up to 100 Wh (160 Wh with approval); can’t be used in flight
- Carry-on only. Power banks found in checked baggage are confiscated or disposed of.
- Keep them within reach, in the seat pocket or under the seat in front. Qantas’s notice to travel agents says that in bulkhead or exit rows they can go in the overhead locker close to you.
- They can’t be used or charged during the flight, including from in-seat USB ports.
- Lithium-ion batteries of 100–160 Wh need airline approval and must be declared at check-in.
- These rules apply on Qantas, QantasLink and Jetstar flights from 15 December 2025.
From Spare batteries and power banks, New safety measures for power banks on flights, effective 15 December 2025. All Qantas bag rules.
Virgin Australia: 2 per person, up to 160 Wh; can’t be used in flight; not in the overhead bin
- Carry-on only, never checked. Take them out of any bag you check in.
- Stow them in the seat pocket or under the seat in front, or keep them on you. Not in the overhead lockers.
- They can’t charge another device on board, or be recharged from the aircraft’s power supply.
- Power banks over 100 Wh, up to 160 Wh, must be declared at check-in. Over 160 Wh isn’t allowed.
- Protect each one against short circuit, and unplug all cables even when it isn’t in use.
Questions
Can I use a power bank on the plane?
Not on JetBlue, easyJet, Wizz Air, Jet2, AirAsia, Malaysia Airlines, Batik Air, Singapore Airlines, Scoot, Cathay Pacific, Jetstar, Qantas and Virgin Australia. American, Delta, Southwest, Alaska, Hawaiian, Avelo and Ryanair allow it, some not during taxi, take-off and landing. WestJet allows it only in some conditions. United, Frontier, Allegiant, Sun Country, Breeze, British Airways and Air Canada don’t say.
How many power banks can I bring?
One on Southwest, Wizz Air and WestJet; two on American, Delta, United, JetBlue, Alaska, Hawaiian, Ryanair, easyJet, British Airways, Jet2, AirAsia, Malaysia Airlines, Batik Air, Singapore Airlines, Scoot, Cathay Pacific, Jetstar, Qantas and Virgin Australia. Frontier, Allegiant, Sun Country, Breeze, Avelo and Air Canada set no number for power banks alone. Each one goes in the cabin, never in a checked bag.
Can I charge a power bank from the seat power?
Not on American, Delta, United, Southwest, JetBlue, Alaska, Hawaiian, Ryanair, British Airways, Wizz Air, Jet2, AirAsia, Malaysia Airlines, Singapore Airlines, Scoot, Cathay Pacific, WestJet, Jetstar, Qantas and Virgin Australia. Frontier, Allegiant, Sun Country, Breeze, Avelo, easyJet, Batik Air and Air Canada don’t say either way.
How many mAh is 100 Wh?
Watt-hours are milliamp-hours times volts, divided by 1,000. Most power banks are built on 3.7 V cells, so 100 Wh is about 27,000 mAh and 160 Wh about 43,000 mAh. Airlines go by the Wh figure printed on the power bank; one with no readable rating can be refused.
Sources
- American Airlines: Restricted items in bags (checked 28 October 2026)
- Delta Air Lines: Battery or fuel-powered items (checked 28 October 2026)
- United Airlines: Portable chargers, vapes and electronic devices (checked 28 October 2026)
- United Airlines: Dangerous items (checked 28 October 2026)
- Southwest Airlines: Traveling with lithium batteries, portable chargers and power banks (checked 28 October 2026)
- JetBlue: Prohibited items (checked 28 October 2026)
- JetBlue: Batteries (checked 28 October 2026)
- Alaska Airlines: Prohibited and restricted batteries and electronic devices (checked 28 October 2026)
- Frontier Airlines: Contract of Carriage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Allegiant Air: Restricted articles (checked 28 October 2026)
- Allegiant Air: Restricted articles list (PDF) (checked 28 October 2026)
- Hawaiian Airlines: Prohibited and restricted batteries and electronic devices (checked 28 October 2026)
- Sun Country Airlines: Prohibited items and hazardous materials (checked 28 October 2026)
- Breeze Airways: Travel tips for beginners and frequent fliers (checked 28 October 2026)
- Avelo Airlines: Traveling with lithium batteries and portable chargers (checked 28 October 2026)
- Avelo Airlines: Restricted and prohibited items (checked 28 October 2026)
- Ryanair: What items are permitted on board? (checked 28 October 2026)
- easyJet: Dangerous goods and prohibited articles (checked 28 October 2026)
- easyJet: Restricted and unusual items (checked 28 October 2026)
- British Airways: Restricted and prohibited items (checked 28 October 2026)
- Wizz Air: Restricted items on board (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jet2: Dangerous goods and restricted items (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jet2: Baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- AirAsia: What items are prohibited from being carried in my baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Malaysia Airlines: Additional restrictions (checked 28 October 2026)
- Batik Air Malaysia: Baggage allowance (checked 28 October 2026)
- Singapore Airlines: General restrictions (checked 28 October 2026)
- Scoot: Is there a limit to the number of power banks that I can bring onboard Scoot flights? (checked 28 October 2026)
- Scoot: Baggage allowance, policy and rules (checked 28 October 2026)
- Cathay Pacific: Spare batteries (checked 28 October 2026)
- Cathay Pacific: Usage of power banks is now restricted on Cathay Pacific flights (checked 28 October 2026)
- Air Canada: Restricted and prohibited items: batteries and personal electronic devices (checked 28 October 2026)
- WestJet: Baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- WestJet: Restricted and prohibited items (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: Dangerous goods (checked 28 October 2026)
- Qantas: Spare batteries and power banks (checked 28 October 2026)
- Qantas: New safety measures for power banks on flights, effective 15 December 2025 (checked 28 October 2026)
- Virgin Australia: Batteries (checked 28 October 2026)
Airline rules change. Spotted a figure that no longer matches the airline’s website? Tell us; corrections are logged on the sources page.