Checked bag fees by airline
A first checked bag on a US domestic flight costs $45 on American (online), Delta, United (prepaid), Southwest, JetBlue (off-peak, added early), Alaska and Hawaiian, and a second costs $55 on American (online), Delta, Southwest, Alaska and Hawaiian. American, United, Southwest, Alaska and Hawaiian raised their fees in April 2026.
Checked against the airlines’ websites on
US airlines
Fixed fees for a standard bag on a domestic flight, as each airline’s fee page gives them.
| Airline | First bag | Second bag | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Airlines | $45 online, $50 at the airport | $55 online, $60 at the airport | US domestic tickets issued on or after 9 April 2026 |
| Delta Air Lines | $45 | $55 | US domestic flights, Delta Comfort and Main |
| United Airlines | $45 prepaid, $50 at the airport | Not stated | Domestic tickets bought on or after 3 April 2026 |
| Southwest Airlines | $45 | $55 | US mainland travel booked on or after 9 April 2026 |
| JetBlue | $45 off-peak, $49 peak | $59 off-peak, $69 peak | Most flights within the US, Latin America, the Caribbean and Canada, bags added 24+ hours before departure |
| Alaska Airlines | $45 | $55 | North America, tickets bought on or after 10 April 2026 |
| Hawaiian Airlines | $45 | $55 | North America, including Hawaii, tickets bought on or after 10 April 2026 |
Every other airline
For every airline not in the table above, bags are included in the fare, priced by route and date, or charged in the airline’s own currency. Each row gives the airline’s own figures as it states them.
| Airline | First bag | Second bag | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frontier Airlines | Varies by date | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Allegiant Air | Varies by route | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Sun Country Airlines | Varies by flight | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Breeze Airways | Shown for your route and dates | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Avelo Airlines | From $47 to $75 | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Airline | First bag | Second bag | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Air Canada | CA$45–CA$54 with tax | CA$60–CA$72 with tax | Economy Basic and Standard, within Canada and to or from the U.S., Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, tickets bought on or after 13 April 2026 |
| WestJet | CA$45–CA$53 prepaid, CA$70–CA$83 at the airport | CA$60–CA$71 prepaid, CA$85–CA$100 at the airport | Econo and Member Exclusive fares, flights within Canada and the U.S. |
| Airline | First bag | Second bag | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ryanair | 10 kg €/£10.49–€/£44.99; 20 kg €/£21.49–€/£59.99 | Not stated | Prices while booking, by route and date |
| easyJet | Varies by route and date | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| British Airways | Included in Economy (not Basic) | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Wizz Air | Shown when you add a bag | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Jet2 | Shown when you add a bag | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Airline | First bag | Second bag | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|
| AirAsia | 20 kg: MYR 159 domestic, MYR 323 international, while booking | Not stated | AirAsia Berhad (AK) flights, per person per sector; AirAsia says prices may vary |
| Malaysia Airlines | Included: 20–35 kg in Economy, by fare brand | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Batik Air Malaysia | 10 kg MYR 50–290; 20 kg MYR 85–520 while booking, by route | Not stated | Pre-paid rates per sector on Batik Air Malaysia (OD) flights, plus taxes where applicable |
| Singapore Airlines | Included (weight depends on fare) | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Scoot | Shown when you add a bag | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Cathay Pacific | Included (1 bag on Economy Light, 2 on Essential and Flex) | Included on Essential and Flex; on Light an extra piece costs USD 100–260 by route | See the airline’s page |
| Airline | First bag | Second bag | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jetstar Airways | Shown when you add a bag | Not stated | Starter fares, and bundles without checked baggage; prices vary by route |
| Qantas | Included in Economy | Not stated | See the airline’s page |
| Virgin Australia | A$67–A$107 before the airport, A$120–A$170 at the airport | Not stated | Lite fares (Choice and Flex include one 23 kg bag); per piece, per sector, on domestic flights |
Paying less
- Pay before the airport. American Airlines: $45 online, $50 at the airport. United Airlines: $45 prepaid, $50 at the airport, and $75 for a Basic Economy bag checked at the gate.
- Pack to the carry-on limit. On the full-service US airlines a carry-on is free; see the carry-on sizes.
- Use the perks you have. Many cards and status levels include a free bag:
- Delta Air Lines: Medallion Members and eligible Delta SkyMiles American Express Card Members check their first bag free.
- Southwest Airlines: Choice Extra fares include two checked bags. A-List Preferred members get two free bags and A-List members one; Rapid Rewards credit card members get their first free.
- JetBlue: The first checked bag is included on transatlantic flights and on flights to and from Cartagena, Guayaquil, Medellín, Port-au-Prince, Georgetown, Barranquilla and Cali.
- Alaska Airlines: Atmos Rewards Visa cardholders get a free checked bag when the flight is bought with an eligible card.
- Hawaiian Airlines: Flights wholly within Hawaii: $30 for the first bag, $40 for the second and $50 for each after that. Huakaʻi members flying wholly within Hawaii check two bags free.
- Hawaiian Airlines: Main Cabin to Asia and Oceania: two bags free. To Europe: the first is free and the second $100.
- Hawaiian Airlines: Hawaiian Airlines World Elite Mastercard primary cardmembers check two bags free between North America and Hawaii and between the islands. Atmos Rewards Visa cardholders get one free bag when the flight is bought with an eligible card.
Questions
How much is a checked bag in 2026?
On a US domestic flight the first bag is $45 on American, Delta, United, Southwest, JetBlue, Alaska and Hawaiian if you pay the cheapest way, and the second $55 or more. American, United, Southwest, Alaska and Hawaiian raised their fees in April 2026.
Is it cheaper to pay for bags online?
Usually. American Airlines charges $45 online and $50 at the airport; United Airlines $45 prepaid and $50 at the airport, and $75 for a Basic Economy bag checked at the gate; JetBlue’s prices are up to $10 lower if you add bags more than 24 hours ahead. Budget airlines like Frontier, Allegiant, Sun Country, Breeze, Avelo and Ryanair charge least while you book.
How do I get a free checked bag?
Mostly through the airline’s credit card, elite status or a higher fare: Delta: Medallion Members and eligible Delta SkyMiles American Express Card Members check their first bag free. Southwest: Choice Extra fares include two checked bags. A-List Preferred members get two free bags and A-List members one; Rapid Rewards credit card members get their first free. JetBlue: The first checked bag is included on transatlantic flights and on flights to and from Cartagena, Guayaquil, Medellín, Port-au-Prince, Georgetown, Barranquilla and Cali. Alaska: Atmos Rewards Visa cardholders get a free checked bag when the flight is bought with an eligible card. Hawaiian: Flights wholly within Hawaii: $30 for the first bag, $40 for the second and $50 for each after that. Huakaʻi members flying wholly within Hawaii check two bags free. Hawaiian: Main Cabin to Asia and Oceania: two bags free. To Europe: the first is free and the second $100. Hawaiian: Hawaiian Airlines World Elite Mastercard primary cardmembers check two bags free between North America and Hawaii and between the islands. Atmos Rewards Visa cardholders get one free bag when the flight is bought with an eligible card.
Sources
- American Airlines: Checked bag fees and policies (checked 28 October 2026)
- Delta Air Lines: Baggage Policy and Fees (checked 28 October 2026)
- United Airlines: Checked bags (checked 28 October 2026)
- Southwest Airlines: Checked Bag Policy (checked 28 October 2026)
- Southwest Airlines: Optional Travel Charges (checked 28 October 2026)
- JetBlue: Bag Info: carry-ons and checked baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Alaska Airlines: Checked baggage fees and policies (checked 28 October 2026)
- Frontier Airlines: Bag Options (checked 28 October 2026)
- Allegiant Air: Optional Services and Fees (checked 28 October 2026)
- Hawaiian Airlines: Checked baggage fees and policies (checked 28 October 2026)
- Hawaiian Airlines: Main Cabin (checked 28 October 2026)
- Sun Country Airlines: Help Center: bags and seats (checked 28 October 2026)
- Breeze Airways: Bag pricing (checked 28 October 2026)
- Breeze Airways: Flight bundles and fares (checked 28 October 2026)
- Avelo Airlines: Checked bags (checked 28 October 2026)
- Avelo Airlines: Optional services (checked 28 October 2026)
- Ryanair: Fees (checked 28 October 2026)
- easyJet: Cabin bag FAQs (checked 28 October 2026)
- easyJet: Hold luggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- easyJet: Fees and charges (checked 28 October 2026)
- British Airways: Baggage essentials (checked 28 October 2026)
- Wizz Air: Checked-in baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jet2: Baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- AirAsia: All you need to know about our cabin baggage policy (checked 28 October 2026)
- AirAsia: Xtra Carry-On: cabin baggage upgrade (checked 28 October 2026)
- AirAsia: Things you need to know about our checked baggage policy (checked 28 October 2026)
- AirAsia: Checked baggage allowance: 50kg and 60kg (checked 28 October 2026)
- AirAsia: Our fares (checked 28 October 2026)
- AirAsia: Fees and charges, AirAsia Berhad (AK) (checked 28 October 2026)
- AirAsia: What items are prohibited from being carried in my baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Malaysia Airlines: Checked baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Malaysia Airlines: Extra baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Malaysia Airlines: Additional restrictions (checked 28 October 2026)
- Batik Air Malaysia: Baggage allowance (checked 28 October 2026)
- Singapore Airlines: Checked baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Singapore Airlines: Additional baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Singapore Airlines: General restrictions (checked 28 October 2026)
- Scoot: Economy fare: 10kg cabin baggage and fare bundles (checked 28 October 2026)
- Scoot: How many and how much cabin baggage may I bring on board? (checked 28 October 2026)
- Scoot: What are the charges to bring an additional bag (cabin/check-in)? (checked 28 October 2026)
- Scoot: What’s the minimum/maximum checked baggage allowance? (checked 28 October 2026)
- Scoot: What are the excess baggage charges and how much does it cost? (checked 28 October 2026)
- Cathay Pacific: Our Economy fares (checked 28 October 2026)
- Cathay Pacific: What is my carry-on baggage allowance? (checked 28 October 2026)
- Cathay Pacific: HK Express codeshare baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Cathay Pacific: Flights from Manila to Los Angeles (checked 28 October 2026)
- Cathay Pacific: Baggage calculator (checked 28 October 2026)
- Cathay Pacific: Extra baggage charges (checked 28 October 2026)
- Cathay Pacific: Spare batteries (checked 28 October 2026)
- Air Canada: Checked baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Air Canada: Fees related to baggage and optional services (checked 28 October 2026)
- Air Canada: Baggage fee changes (checked 28 October 2026)
- WestJet: Baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- WestJet: Service fees (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: Carry-on baggage: what can I bring on board? (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: Updates to carry-on baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: +7kg extra carry-on baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: Starter fare product guide (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: Checked baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: Is checked baggage allowance included in my fare? (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: What are the size and weight restrictions for checked baggage? (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: Airport baggage prices and excess baggage fees (checked 28 October 2026)
- Jetstar: Dangerous goods (checked 28 October 2026)
- Qantas: Checked baggage allowances (checked 28 October 2026)
- Qantas: Pre-purchase additional baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Virgin Australia: Checked baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
- Virgin Australia: Batteries (checked 28 October 2026)
Airline rules change. Spotted a figure that no longer matches the airline’s website? Tell us; corrections are logged on the sources page.