Pets in the cabin by airline

Cats and dogs can fly in the cabin on American, Delta, United, Southwest, JetBlue, Alaska, Air Canada and WestJet, and on Frontier, Allegiant, Hawaiian, Sun Country, Breeze, Avelo and Virgin Australia on some routes only. Ryanair, easyJet, British Airways, Wizz Air, Jet2, AirAsia, Malaysia Airlines, Singapore Airlines, Scoot, Cathay Pacific, Jetstar and Qantas don’t take pets in the cabin. In the US the fee runs from $50 to $150 each way. Batik Air publishes no pet policy.

Checked against the airlines’ websites on

Pets in the cabin, airline by airline

Cats and small dogs in a carrier under the seat in front of you. The carrier size is the largest the airline accepts; many also limit how many pets fly on each plane, so book early. Assistance dogs follow separate rules on every airline.

Pets in the cabin: United States
AirlineIn the cabinLargest carrierWeight limitFee
American AirlinesYes18 × 11 × 11 in46 × 28 × 28 cmNot stated$150 per kennel, each way
Delta Air LinesYes18 × 11 × 11 in≈about 46 × 28 × 28 cmNot stated$150 each way
United AirlinesYes18 × 11 × 11 in45 × 27 × 27 cmNot stated$150 each way
Southwest AirlinesYes18 × 10.5 × 10 in≈about 46 × 27 × 25 cmNot stated$125 per carrier, one way
JetBlueYes17 × 12.5 × 8.5 in43.2 × 31.8 × 21.6 cmNot stated$150 each way
Alaska AirlinesYes17 × 11 × 9.5 in≈about 43 × 28 × 24 cmNot stated$100 each way
Frontier AirlinesSome routes18 × 14 × 11 in≈about 46 × 36 × 28 cmNot stated$149 each way
Allegiant AirSome routes18 × 12 × 11 in≈about 46 × 30 × 28 cmNot stated$50 each way
Hawaiian AirlinesSome routes17 × 11 × 9.5 in≈about 43 × 28 × 24 cmNot stated$100 each way; $35 within Hawaii
Sun Country AirlinesSome routes17 × 12 × 9 in≈about 43 × 30 × 23 cmNot stated$75 each way; $100 as a walk-up
Breeze AirwaysSome routes17 × 13 × 8 in≈about 43 × 33 × 20 cm25 lb≈about 11.3 kg$75 each way
Avelo AirlinesSome routes17 × 13 × 9 in43 × 33 × 22 cmNot stated$125 each way
Pets in the cabin: Canada
AirlineIn the cabinLargest carrierWeight limitFee
Air CanadaYes43 × 40 × 20 cm17 × 16 × 8 inNot statedCA/US$50–$60 each way; CA/US$100–$120 international
WestJetYes41 × 25.4 × 21.5 cm16 × 10 × 8.5 inNot statedCA$50–$59 each way; CA$100–$118 outside Canada and the U.S.
Pets in the cabin: UK and Europe
AirlineIn the cabinLargest carrierWeight limitFee
RyanairNo———
easyJetNo———
British AirwaysNo———
Wizz AirNo———
Jet2No———
Pets in the cabin: Asia
AirlineIn the cabinLargest carrierWeight limitFee
AirAsiaNo———
Malaysia AirlinesNo———
Batik Air MalaysiaNo policy published———
Singapore AirlinesNo———
ScootNo———
Cathay PacificNo———
Pets in the cabin: Australia
AirlineIn the cabinLargest carrierWeight limitFee
Jetstar AirwaysNo———
QantasNo———
Virgin AustraliaSome routes44 × 28 × 28 cm≈about 17.3 × 11 × 11 in8 kg≈about 18 lb$149 per flight (introductory fee)

The rules in full

Which animals, which routes, how to book, and what the carrier counts as, from each airline’s own pages.

United States

American Airlines: In the cabin, $150 per kennel, each way, carrier up to 18 × 11 × 11 in
  • Cats and dogs only. Within the US and Puerto Rico they must be at least 8 weeks old.
  • That size is for soft-sided carriers, on all flights. Hard-sided carriers can be 19 × 13 × 9 in (48 × 33 × 22 cm) on American flights and 16 × 12 × 8 in (40 × 30 × 20 cm) on American Eagle.
  • The carrier takes the place of your personal item or your carry-on bag. You can bring one of them with it, not both.
  • Pets can go on most flights of up to 12 hours: within the 48 states and to or from Alaska, Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, St Croix and St Thomas.
  • No carry-on pets to or from Hawaii, Jamaica, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia or Uruguay, or across the Atlantic or Pacific.
  • American flights take up to 20 carriers. American Eagle takes 1 in the premium cabin and 5 in the main cabin. No pets in First or Business on the 777 and 787.
  • On the three-cabin A321T, carriers in First and Business go in a compartment at the front, and the pet and carrier together can’t weigh more than 20 lb (9.07 kg).
  • Add the pet to your trip on aa.com or in the American app, then pay at the ticket counter.
  • Dogs that have been in a country at high risk for rabies in the last 6 months can’t fly as carry-on pets.

From Traveling with pets. All American bag rules.

Delta Air Lines: In the cabin, $150 each way, carrier up to 18 × 11 × 11 in
  • Small dogs, cats and household birds within the contiguous US. Outside it, only dogs and cats.
  • At least 8 weeks old for US travel and 15 weeks to the EU. Dogs entering the US must be 6 months old, cats 16 weeks.
  • Delta has no fixed limit, because the kennel must fit under the seat on your plane. It recommends a soft-sided kennel of up to 18 × 11 × 11 inches, which fits most aircraft.
  • $150 within and between the US, Canada, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands, on tickets issued on or after 8 April 2025. $200 on international flights, Brazil included.
  • You can bring the kennel plus 1 personal item or 1 carry-on bag, not both.
  • One kennel per passenger, and usually one pet per kennel.
  • Up to 2 pets in Delta First and 4 in Delta Comfort and Delta Main. None in Delta One, Delta Premium Select or international Business Class.
  • No pets in the cabin to or from Australia, Barbados, Hawaii, Hong Kong, Iceland, Jamaica, New Zealand, South Africa, the UK or the UAE, or for pets starting their trip in Brazil, Colombia or the Dominican Republic.
  • Book by calling Delta Reservations. The fee is paid at check-in. Places are limited and go first come, first served.

From Pet travel overview. All Delta bag rules.

United Airlines: In the cabin, $150 each way, carrier up to 18 × 11 × 11 in
  • Cats and dogs only, in the cabin. United no longer takes pets in the hold, except for some military and State Department staff.
  • That size is for soft-sided carriers. Hard-sided carriers can be 17.5 × 12 × 9 in (44 × 30 × 22 cm). On a 737 MAX the carrier can be no more than 10 inches tall. United rounds its metric figures down: go by the inches.
  • United sets no weight or breed limit.
  • Puppies and kittens must be at least 2 months old on domestic flights. On international flights dogs must be 6 months old and kittens 4 months.
  • Up to 2 pets per person on most planes, and you buy the seat next to yours for the second. Only 1 per person on the A319, A320, A321neo, 737-800 and MAX 8, and 737-900 and MAX 9.
  • Each plane has a cap: up to 2 pets in premium cabins, and 3, 4 or 6 in Economy depending on the plane.
  • United lists 33 places pets can’t fly to, from or through, among them Hawaii, Australia, New Zealand, the UK, Ireland, Brazil, Jamaica and the UAE.
  • Add “Travel with a pet” when you book on united.com, or add the pet later in My Trips. You can’t add one in the United app. International trips need a phone call.
  • The carrier must fit under the seat in front of you. No pets in exit rows, United Premium Plus or the front row of a cabin.

From Traveling with pets. All United bag rules.

Southwest Airlines: In the cabin, $125 per carrier, one way, carrier up to 18 × 10.5 × 10 in
  • Small, vaccinated cats and dogs at least 8 weeks old, in the cabin only. No pets travel in the hold.
  • Domestic flights only. No pets on itineraries with an international flight, and none to or from Hawaii, though pets can fly between the Hawaiian Islands for $35 per carrier.
  • One carrier per ticketed passenger. It can hold up to two small cats or dogs of the same species.
  • The carrier counts as your carry-on or your personal item, so you bring it with one or the other.
  • Southwest’s own carrier is 15 × 10 × 10 inches. Soft-sided carriers are recommended, because space under the seat varies, especially at aisle seats.
  • Pets can’t be booked online: you call Southwest. The fee is paid at the ticket counter by credit card, and space is limited.
  • Unaccompanied minors can’t travel with a pet.

From I want to book travel with my pet, What type of pet carrier can I bring?, What destination-specific information applies to pets?, Optional Travel Charges. All Southwest bag rules.

JetBlue: In the cabin, $150 each way, carrier up to 17 × 12.5 × 8.5 in
  • Small dogs and cats only, in the cabin. JetBlue carries no pets in the hold.
  • Soft-sided and hard-sided carriers are both accepted, with one pet per carrier.
  • The carrier counts as your personal item, so you can still bring a carry-on bag.
  • Up to 2 pets per traveller, each with its own seat and fee. Up to 6 pets per flight.
  • Pets can fly in Main, EvenMore and BlueFirst, not in Mint.
  • No pets on flights to or from Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago, or the UK and Europe, or on interline and codeshare bookings.
  • Book on jetblue.com, in the JetBlue app or by contacting JetBlue. You can also pay the fee in TrueBlue points.
  • Unaccompanied minors can’t travel with a pet.

From Traveling with pets, Help: traveling with pets, Our fares. All JetBlue bag rules.

Alaska Airlines: In the cabin, $100 each way, carrier up to 17 × 11 × 9.5 in
  • Soft-sided carriers only. Hard-sided kennels aren’t allowed in the cabin.
  • Small dogs, house cats, domesticated rabbits and small household birds. Only dogs, cats and rabbits can fly to Hawaii (rabbits to Honolulu only), and only dogs and cats to some international destinations.
  • Dogs, cats and rabbits must be at least 8 weeks old.
  • The fee is $35 on flights wholly within Hawaii. On those flights the carrier doesn’t count toward your carry-on allowance.
  • Elsewhere the carrier counts as one of your two items: bring it with a personal item or with a carry-on bag.
  • You can bring two carriers if you buy the seat next to yours. Two pets of the same species and similar size can share a carrier.
  • Places per flight are limited and vary by plane. No pets in Business Class on the A330 or 787, or in exit or bulkhead rows.
  • No pets in the cabin to or from Europe, London Heathrow, Japan, Seoul, Belize City, Guatemala City, Pago Pago, Papeete, Rarotonga or Sydney.
  • Book with an Alaska or Hawaiian agent by chat before the day of travel. Places go first come, first served.
  • You must be 18 or over, or travelling with someone who is.

From Pets in cabin. All Alaska bag rules.

Frontier Airlines: In the cabin on some routes, $149 each way, carrier up to 18 × 14 × 11 in
  • Dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters and small household birds, on flights within the US only. International flights take service dogs only.
  • Pets must be at least 8 weeks old. One pet per passenger, one adult dog or cat per carrier, and no more than ten pet carriers per flight.
  • Soft-sided carriers up to 18 × 14 × 11 in (recommended); hard-sided up to 18 × 14 × 8 in. The carrier must fit under the seat in front of you.
  • With a pet you can bring a personal item or a paid carry-on, not both.
  • Add the pet while booking (Cabin Pet) or later in Manage Trip. If you don’t pay in advance, you pay when you check the pet in.
  • No row 1 or exit-row seats with a pet.

From Do you allow pets on the plane and how do I add them to my reservation?, Family and pets, Optional services, Contract of Carriage. All Frontier bag rules.

Allegiant Air: In the cabin on some routes, $50 each way, carrier up to 18 × 12 × 11 in
  • Dogs and cats only, at least 8 weeks old, within the 48 contiguous states. International destinations and US territories don’t accept all pets.
  • Soft-sided carriers up to 18 × 12 × 11 in (preferred); hard-sided up to 17 × 11 × 10.5 in. Up to two pets per carrier, one carrier per paying passenger.
  • The carrier is one of your two cabin items: bring a personal item or a paid carry-on with it, not both. The extra item is checked for a fee.
  • No exit-row or bulkhead seats, and no aisle seats on Boeing aircraft.
  • Check in with an agent at least an hour before departure.

From Traveling with pets. All Allegiant bag rules.

Hawaiian Airlines: In the cabin on some routes, $100 each way; $35 within Hawaii, carrier up to 17 × 11 × 9.5 in
  • Small dogs, house cats, domesticated rabbits and small household birds. Only dogs, cats and rabbits may fly to Hawaii (rabbits to Honolulu only). Birds fly in the cabin only on Neighbor Island flights.
  • Dogs, cats and rabbits must be at least 8 weeks old.
  • Soft-sided carriers only; hard-sided kennels aren’t allowed in the cabin. Up to two pets of the same species may share a carrier.
  • The carrier takes one of your two cabin items: bring it with a personal item or a carry-on bag. On flights within Hawaii it doesn’t count.
  • Not allowed to or from Europe, London, Japan, Seoul, Belize City, Guatemala City, Pago Pago, Papeete, Rarotonga or Sydney.
  • Places are limited and vary by aircraft, so book before the day of travel. Business Class on the A330 and 787 can’t take carriers.
  • Two carriers only if you buy the seat next to you. The passenger with the pet must be 18 or older, or travel with an adult.

From Traveling with pets in cabin. All Hawaiian bag rules.

Sun Country Airlines: In the cabin on some routes, $75 each way; $100 as a walk-up, carrier up to 17 × 12 × 9 in
  • Small dogs and cats on flights within the 48 contiguous states. Not on international flights or to and from Alaska, Puerto Rico or the US Virgin Islands.
  • Hard or soft-sided carrier (soft recommended). One pet per carrier and one pet per ticketed passenger.
  • No more than six pets per flight. Book through Sun Country Reservations; walk-ups are taken only if there’s room.
  • No bulkhead or exit-row seats. A middle seat has the most room under it.

From Help Center: traveling with kids or pets. All Sun Country bag rules.

Breeze Airways: In the cabin on some routes, $75 each way, carrier up to 17 × 13 × 8 in, 25 lb with the carrier
  • Small domesticated cats and dogs on domestic flights only; no other animals.
  • At least 8 weeks old. One pet per carrier, one pet per guest, and up to five pets per flight.
  • The 25 lb limit includes the carrier, on Breeze’s pet page; its Contract of Carriage applies it to the pet alone.
  • Soft-sided carriers only, and the carrier is your personal item.
  • Carriers don’t fit under Breeze Ascent seats or the row behind them. No exit-row or bulkhead seats.
  • Add the pet while booking or in My Trips, then check in at the airport ticket counter.

From Traveling with pets (dogs and cats). All Breeze bag rules.

Avelo Airlines: In the cabin on some routes, $125 each way, carrier up to 17 × 13 × 9 in
  • Small cats, dogs, rabbits and birds, at least eight weeks old, on domestic flights only.
  • Hard-sided carriers up to 17 × 13 × 9 in; soft-sided ones must fit the same space.
  • One carrier per person, with up to two animals in it. Up to eight carriers per flight, sometimes fewer.
  • No exit-row seats, and no seats without space under the seat in front.
  • Add the pet while booking or by phone, then check it in at the airport counter. No health certificate is needed.

From Avelo Airlines pet policy, Contract of Carriage, Optional services. All Avelo bag rules.

Canada

Air Canada: In the cabin, CA/US$50–$60 each way; CA/US$100–$120 international, carrier up to 43 × 40 × 20 cm
  • Cats and small dogs only, one per passenger. In most cases the pet must be at least 10 weeks old and fully weaned.
  • Since 1 June 2025 the carrier must be soft-sided and flexible. Backpack carriers with hard plastic windows aren’t allowed. The pet stays in the closed carrier under the seat in front of you.
  • The size limit depends on the aircraft. It’s 40 × 43 × 20 cm on most Air Canada jets and 40 × 55 × 27 cm on the Dash 8-400, E175, CRJ900 and Landline connections. In Business Class on the A330, 777 and 787 it’s 21 × 41 × 28 cm. Air Canada Jetz flights take no pets.
  • On Economy Basic routes that include no carry-on, you bring the pet and one personal item.
  • Pets can’t fly in the cabin with you in Premium Economy, in an exit or bulkhead row, or if you’re an unaccompanied minor.
  • Book your own flight, then call Air Canada Reservations to register the pet, ideally within 24 hours. Pets that aren’t registered in advance aren’t accepted, and you can’t check in online or at a kiosk.

From Travelling with your pet. All Air Canada bag rules.

WestJet: In the cabin, CA$50–$59 each way; CA$100–$118 outside Canada and the U.S., carrier up to 41 × 25.4 × 21.5 cm
  • Cats, dogs and birds: one pet per guest and per kennel, at least eight weeks old.
  • The kennel must be soft-sided, airline-approved, leak-proof, secure and well ventilated, and big enough for the pet to stand, sit, turn around and lie down. Space under the seat varies by aircraft, so you may need a window seat.
  • The kennel counts as your personal item. On routes where UltraBasic includes no carry-on, UltraBasic guests can bring it as well as their personal item.
  • No pets on flights to or from Barbados, Dublin, Hawaii, Iceland, Jamaica or the UK. Pets also aren’t accepted in Business on the 787, on flights operated by code-share or interline partners, or with an unaccompanied minor.
  • Reserve space by chat or phone as soon as you book, and at least 48 hours before departure. The pet stays in its kennel under the seat for the whole flight.

From Pets, Service fees. All WestJet bag rules.

UK and Europe

Ryanair: No pets in the cabin
  • Ryanair carries no animals except guide and assistance dogs, and only on certain routes.
  • Assistance dogs are accepted on all intra-EU/EEA and domestic flights, but not to or from Morocco or Israel. They fly free in the cabin, on the floor at your feet, up to four per flight.
  • The dog must be trained to help a person with a disability and certified by a full member of ADI, Assistance Dogs UK or IGDF. Emotional support and therapy dogs aren’t accepted.
  • Tell Ryanair in advance, preferably on the day you book, online or through the Assisted Travel Team.

From Does Ryanair carry animals?, Guide and assistance dogs. All Ryanair bag rules.

easyJet: No pets in the cabin
  • Pets of any kind and emotional support dogs aren’t allowed. Only assistance dogs fly, and only on most routes.
  • The dog must be trained by an organisation accredited to ADI or IGDF. Within the EU and Switzerland (not the UK), comparable organisations may be accepted case by case.
  • Assistance dogs can’t fly to or from Egypt, Israel, Kosovo, Montenegro, Morocco or Turkey.
  • Send the dog’s health and training documents no later than 48 hours before departure. It flies free, on top of your bag allowance.

From Restricted and unusual items, Special assistance. All easyJet bag rules.

British Airways: No pets in the cabin
  • BA doesn’t carry pets in the cabin on any route. Pets fly in the hold: PetAir UK arranges it from the UK, and IAG Cargo arranges it to the UK.
  • Assistance dogs fly free in the cabin on most BA flights. Emotional support dogs can travel only as pets.

From Travelling with pets. All British Airways bag rules.

Wizz Air: No pets in the cabin
  • Pets aren’t allowed on board, apart from guide dogs. Emotional support animals aren’t accepted.
  • Guide and assistance dogs fly free for disabled passengers on flights within the EU and from the EU to outside it. Only one dog is accepted per flight, and it can’t occupy a seat.
  • Tell Wizz Air while booking and contact Special Assistance. Send the dog’s certificate and travel documents at least 48 hours before departure.

From Special baggage. All Wizz Air bag rules.

Jet2: No pets in the cabin
  • Jet2 carries no animals except registered assistance dogs, where allowed.
  • The dog must be trained by an IGDF member or an organisation that meets ADI full-membership criteria. It must also be microchipped, vaccinated against rabies and hold a valid pet passport.
  • Tell Jet2 in advance: while booking, in Manage My Booking, or through the Assisted Travel team.

From Assisted Travel. All Jet2 bag rules.

Asia

AirAsia: No pets in the cabin
  • AirAsia’s standard policy is to accept no pets or animals on board its flights.
  • Its AK conditions of carriage treat service animals as a conditional exception: contact AirAsia at least 48 hours before departure.

From Can I bring my pet, animal or guide dog on board?, Terms and conditions of carriage for AK flights. All AirAsia bag rules.

Malaysia Airlines: No pets in the cabin
  • Domestic pets can’t travel in the cabin.
  • With advance permission, dogs, cats, household birds and other pets travel in the cargo hold. They must be properly crated, with health and vaccination certificates and entry permits, and they’re charged as excess baggage.
  • A pet travelling as checked baggage is paid for at the airport check-in counter, even if you check in online.
  • An animal over 32 kg (70 lb) or 204 cm (80 in) in total dimensions isn’t accepted as baggage: book MASkargo or a freight service.
  • Guide dogs for sight- or hearing-impaired passengers are carried free, on top of the free baggage allowance.

From Can I carry domestic pets in the cabin?, What are the restrictions for transporting live animals?, If I’m traveling with my pet, can I check in online?, General Conditions of Carriage, effective 28 December 2024. All Malaysia Airlines bag rules.

Singapore Airlines: No pets in the cabin
  • Pets fly only as checked baggage, in the hold. Only cats and dogs at least three months old are accepted.
  • Pet and container together can weigh no more than 32 kg. A heavier pet has to go through a cargo agent.
  • Contact Singapore Airlines at least two weeks before departure.
  • Pet and container are outside the free allowance and charged as additional baggage, by total weight. To and from the USA they count as two extra pieces.
  • Not on Boeing 737 flights. Not as checked baggage into or out of Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Bali, South Africa, London Gatwick or Manchester, or into London Heathrow, Dubai or Hong Kong. Snub-nosed breeds are refused.
  • Assistance dogs travel in the cabin free of charge, with at least 48 hours’ notice. Emotional support dogs don’t count as assistance dogs.

From Travelling with pets, Travelling with assistance dogs. All Singapore Airlines bag rules.

Scoot: No pets in the cabin
  • No pets or other live animals on board. The only exception is service dogs for passengers with visual or hearing impairments, which travel in the cabin.
  • Book a service dog through the Scoot call centre or WhatsApp at least 48 hours before departure. Bring a muzzle, an absorbent mat, and the dog’s certificates and permits.
  • At most two service dogs per aircraft, one per passenger. Emotional support animals are not accepted.

From Travel information, What are the requirements for bringing service dogs on-board?, Does Scoot accept Emotional Support Animals?. All Scoot bag rules.

Cathay Pacific: No pets in the cabin
  • Apart from service dogs, pets can’t travel in the cabin. They travel as cargo with Cathay Cargo.
  • Cathay Pacific isn’t accepting new bookings for pets as checked baggage until further notice.
  • Since 1 September 2025, Cathay Cargo takes pet bookings only from IPATA or ATA members, IATA-accredited freight forwarders, or holders of an IATA Live Animals Regulations training certificate.
  • Guide and assistance dogs are welcome in the cabin.

From Are pets allowed in the cabin?, Is there free baggage allowance for pets?, Travelling with animals. All Cathay Pacific bag rules.

Australia

Jetstar Airways: No pets in the cabin
  • Jetstar isn’t equipped to carry pets. You can book pet travel with Qantas Freight.
  • Only approved service dogs (guide, hearing and assistance dogs) and service dogs under training travel in the cabin.
  • Service dogs can’t travel to or from Thailand. Service dogs under training aren’t booked on Jetstar international flights.

From Can my pet fly with Jetstar?, Service dogs conditions of carriage. All Jetstar bag rules.

Qantas: No pets in the cabin
  • Pets travel in a special area of the hold, booked through Qantas Freight. Book your pet’s flight before your own.
  • For international trips, Qantas strongly recommends a pet travel specialist.
  • Only approved service dogs travel in the cabin, free of charge. They can weigh no more than 45 kg, and you apply at least 14 days before travel.

From Travelling with pets, Travelling with a guide, assistance or hearing dog. All Qantas bag rules.

Virgin Australia: In the cabin on some routes, $149 per flight (introductory fee), carrier up to 44 × 28 × 28 cm, 8 kg with the carrier
  • Small cats and dogs only, on Pets in Cabin flights from Melbourne, Adelaide, the Sunshine Coast, the Gold Coast and Cairns.
  • Book by calling the Guest Contact Centre on 13 67 89 more than 72 hours before travel. Spaces are limited, and each guest can bring one pet.
  • The pet must be at least 8 weeks old (16 weeks on some routes). It travels in a soft-sided, escape-proof carrier that stays closed under the seat in front for the whole flight.
  • You sit in seat 18A, 18F, 20A or 20F, and check in in person at least 75 minutes before departure.
  • The carrier comes on top of your normal carry-on allowance.
  • Melbourne is bookable through 31 January 2027 and Adelaide through 23 March 2027.
  • A pet that can’t fly in the cabin may go in the hold with Virgin Australia Cargo. Assistance animals are always welcome in the cabin, subject to conditions.

From Pet travel, Pets in Cabin. All Virgin Australia bag rules.

Questions

Which airlines allow pets in the cabin?

American, Delta, United, Southwest, JetBlue, Alaska, Air Canada, WestJet, Frontier, Allegiant, Hawaiian, Sun Country, Breeze, Avelo and Virgin Australia. Each one limits which animals, how many per flight and which routes: the rules for each are below.

How big can a pet carrier be?

From 41 × 25.4 × 21.5 cm on WestJet to 18 × 14 × 11 in on Frontier. It must fit under the seat in front of you, so soft-sided carriers are the safer choice.

How much does it cost to take a pet in the cabin?

American: $150 per kennel, each way. Delta: $150 each way. United: $150 each way. Southwest: $125 per carrier, one way. JetBlue: $150 each way. Alaska: $100 each way. Frontier: $149 each way. Allegiant: $50 each way. Hawaiian: $100 each way; $35 within Hawaii. Sun Country: $75 each way; $100 as a walk-up. Breeze: $75 each way. Avelo: $125 each way. Air Canada: CA/US$50–$60 each way; CA/US$100–$120 international. WestJet: CA$50–$59 each way; CA$100–$118 outside Canada and the U.S. Virgin Australia: $149 per flight (introductory fee).

Can I take a pet in the cabin in the UK or Europe?

Not on Ryanair, easyJet, British Airways, Wizz Air and Jet2: they take only assistance dogs in the cabin.

Sources

  1. American Airlines: Traveling with pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  2. Delta Air Lines: Pet travel overview (checked 28 October 2026)
  3. United Airlines: Traveling with pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  4. Southwest Airlines: I want to book travel with my pet (checked 28 October 2026)
  5. Southwest Airlines: What type of pet carrier can I bring? (checked 28 October 2026)
  6. Southwest Airlines: What destination-specific information applies to pets? (checked 28 October 2026)
  7. Southwest Airlines: Optional Travel Charges (checked 28 October 2026)
  8. JetBlue: Traveling with pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  9. JetBlue: Help: traveling with pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  10. JetBlue: Our fares (checked 28 October 2026)
  11. Alaska Airlines: Pets in cabin (checked 28 October 2026)
  12. Frontier Airlines: Do you allow pets on the plane and how do I add them to my reservation? (checked 28 October 2026)
  13. Frontier Airlines: Family and pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  14. Frontier Airlines: Optional services (checked 28 October 2026)
  15. Frontier Airlines: Contract of Carriage (checked 28 October 2026)
  16. Allegiant Air: Traveling with pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  17. Hawaiian Airlines: Traveling with pets in cabin (checked 28 October 2026)
  18. Sun Country Airlines: Help Center: traveling with kids or pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  19. Breeze Airways: Traveling with pets (dogs and cats) (checked 28 October 2026)
  20. Avelo Airlines: Avelo Airlines pet policy (checked 28 October 2026)
  21. Avelo Airlines: Contract of Carriage (checked 28 October 2026)
  22. Avelo Airlines: Optional services (checked 28 October 2026)
  23. Ryanair: Does Ryanair carry animals? (checked 28 October 2026)
  24. Ryanair: Guide and assistance dogs (checked 28 October 2026)
  25. easyJet: Restricted and unusual items (checked 28 October 2026)
  26. easyJet: Special assistance (checked 28 October 2026)
  27. British Airways: Travelling with pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  28. Wizz Air: Special baggage (checked 28 October 2026)
  29. Jet2: Assisted Travel (checked 28 October 2026)
  30. AirAsia: Can I bring my pet, animal or guide dog on board? (checked 28 October 2026)
  31. AirAsia: Terms and conditions of carriage for AK flights (checked 28 October 2026)
  32. Malaysia Airlines: Can I carry domestic pets in the cabin? (checked 28 October 2026)
  33. Malaysia Airlines: What are the restrictions for transporting live animals? (checked 28 October 2026)
  34. Malaysia Airlines: If I’m traveling with my pet, can I check in online? (checked 28 October 2026)
  35. Malaysia Airlines: General Conditions of Carriage, effective 28 December 2024 (checked 28 October 2026)
  36. Singapore Airlines: Travelling with pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  37. Singapore Airlines: Travelling with assistance dogs (checked 28 October 2026)
  38. Scoot: Travel information (checked 28 October 2026)
  39. Scoot: What are the requirements for bringing service dogs on-board? (checked 28 October 2026)
  40. Scoot: Does Scoot accept Emotional Support Animals? (checked 28 October 2026)
  41. Cathay Pacific: Are pets allowed in the cabin? (checked 28 October 2026)
  42. Cathay Pacific: Is there free baggage allowance for pets? (checked 28 October 2026)
  43. Cathay Pacific: Travelling with animals (checked 28 October 2026)
  44. Air Canada: Travelling with your pet (checked 28 October 2026)
  45. WestJet: Pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  46. WestJet: Service fees (checked 28 October 2026)
  47. Jetstar: Can my pet fly with Jetstar? (checked 28 October 2026)
  48. Jetstar: Service dogs conditions of carriage (checked 28 October 2026)
  49. Qantas: Travelling with pets (checked 28 October 2026)
  50. Qantas: Travelling with a guide, assistance or hearing dog (checked 28 October 2026)
  51. Virgin Australia: Pet travel (checked 28 October 2026)
  52. Virgin Australia: Pets in Cabin (checked 28 October 2026)

Airline rules change. Spotted a figure that no longer matches the airline’s website? Tell us; corrections are logged on the sources page.