Standard carry-on bag
- Size
- 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.5 × 15.5 × 9 in
- Weight
- None published
- Wheels and handles
- Not stated
- With your fare
- Not in Basic
Not in Basic, except to and from Europe and Africa; Basic Express adds one.
- All carry-on baggage must fit the sizing units at check-in and at the gate. An oversized carry-on is checked at the gate for a fee, and you collect it at baggage claim.
- A pet carrier counts as your standard carry-on bag.
- A coat or jacket, an umbrella and, with a lap infant, a diaper bag don’t count toward the allowance. Extra carry-ons can’t be bought.
- Rollaboard suitcases don’t fit the overhead bins on some Porter aircraft and are gate checked with a GatePorter tag.
Personal item
- Size
- 43 × 33 × 16 cm17 × 13 × 6 in
- Weight
- None published
- Wheels and handles
- Not stated
- With your fare
- Included in every fare
- A briefcase, purse, small backpack, camera bag, laptop or small garment bag. Every passenger can bring one, Basic fares included.
Which other airlines take a 43 × 33 × 16 cm bag
Compare every airline’s under-seat limit on the personal item page.
Checked bags
- Weight
- 23 kg50 lb
- Total
- 158 cm62 in
- Size is length + width + height. No single piece can be over 203 cm (80 in).
- A bag of 23–32 kg pays CA$20–CA$25 per kilogram, per direction; a bag over 158 cm pays CA$100–CA$115. Both are paid at the airport, and a bag that is both pays both.
- Free bags by fare: none on Basic and Standard (one on Standard to and from Europe and Africa), one on Flexible and Freedom, two on Navigate and Ultimate.
Bag fees
First checked bag: CA$50–CA$63.25 at booking, CA$60–CA$80.50 at the airport. Second: CA$65–CA$80.50 at booking, CA$75–CA$97.75 at the airport. Basic and Standard fares, Canada and the U.S., reservations made on or after 7 May 2026.
- Added after booking, the first bag is CA$55–CA$69; at the gate it’s CA$80–CA$103.50. Paying in advance is always cheaper than at the airport.
- Prices are ranges because taxes vary. Online and by phone they’re charged in the booking currency, at the airport counter in local currency.
- VIPorter Venture members get the first bag free, and Ascent and First members the first two. The BMO VIPorter World Elite Mastercard gives one free checked bag and one free carry-on on every fare, for the cardholder and up to 8 guests on the same booking.
Good to know
Basic fares
Basic includes only a personal item: a standard carry-on bag isn’t permitted, except on flights to and from Europe and Africa. Basic Express or the Basic Bundle adds a carry-on and an electronic boarding pass, and Plus Pak adds a carry-on, a first checked bag and a seat.
GatePorter
Bags checked at the gate with a GatePorter tag are left at the aircraft door and handed back there, except on U.S. flights into Toronto-City and at Chicago-Midway, where they go to the baggage carousel.
The cheapest fare, power banks and pets on Porter
- Cheapest fare: Basic: carry-on on some routes only; checked bags: paid, from CA$50 at booking. Every airline’s cheapest fare
- Power banks: No set number, up to 100 Wh. Every airline’s power bank rules
- Pets in the cabin: In the cabin, CA$50–$57.50 per direction, carrier up to 55 × 40 × 27 cm. Every airline’s pet rules
Porter next to other Canadian airlines
| Airline | Carry-on / cabin bag | Weight | Included? | Personal item |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Air Canada | 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.5 × 15.5 × 9 in | No weight limit | Not in Economy Basic | 43 × 33 × 16 cm17 × 13 × 6 in |
| WestJet | 56 × 36 × 23 cm22 × 14 × 9 in | None published | Not in UltraBasic | 41 × 33 × 15 cm16 × 13 × 6 in |
| Porter Airlines | 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.5 × 15.5 × 9 in | None published | Not in Basic | 43 × 33 × 16 cm17 × 13 × 6 in |
| Flair Airlines | 55 × 40 × 23 cm≈about 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in | 10 kg22 lb | Paid extra | 43 × 33 × 15 cm≈about 16.9 × 13 × 5.9 in |
Wheels and handles: not stated for Porter. Every airline drawn to scale