Carry-on size in Canada
Air Canada, Porter and Flair take carry-ons up to 55 × 40 × 23 cm; WestJet 56 × 36 × 23 cm. On Flair only a small under-seat bag is free. One sets a weight limit: Flair 10 kg. Air Canada, WestJet and Porter give no weight limit.
Checked against the airlines’ websites on
- 55 × 40 × 23 cmAir Canada, Porter and Flair
- 56 × 36 × 23 cmWestJet
To test your own bag against every airline, use the bag check.
Carry-on limits
The overhead bag first, then the free under-seat bag. Each airline’s own unit comes first; “≈” marks a conversion we made where the airline prints only the other unit.
| Airline | Carry-on / cabin bag | Weight | Included? | Personal item |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Air Canada | 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.5 × 15.5 × 9 in | No weight limit | Not in Economy Basic | 43 × 33 × 16 cm17 × 13 × 6 in |
| WestJet | 56 × 36 × 23 cm22 × 14 × 9 in | None published | Not in UltraBasic | 41 × 33 × 15 cm16 × 13 × 6 in |
| Porter Airlines | 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.5 × 15.5 × 9 in | None published | Not in Basic | 43 × 33 × 16 cm17 × 13 × 6 in |
| Flair Airlines | 55 × 40 × 23 cm≈about 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in | 10 kg22 lb | Paid extra | 43 × 33 × 15 cm≈about 16.9 × 13 × 5.9 in |
| Airline | Free under-seat bag | Size | Weight | Wheels and handles |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Air Canada | Personal item | 43 × 33 × 16 cm17 × 13 × 6 in | No weight limit | Wheels and handles included |
| WestJet | Personal item | 41 × 33 × 15 cm16 × 13 × 6 in | None published | Wheels and handles included |
| Porter Airlines | Personal item | 43 × 33 × 16 cm17 × 13 × 6 in | None published | Not stated |
| Flair Airlines | Personal item | 43 × 33 × 15 cm≈about 16.9 × 13 × 5.9 in | 7 kg15.5 lb | Not stated |
Checked bags
| Airline | Weight | Size |
|---|---|---|
| Air Canada | 23 kg50 lb | 158 cm total62 in total |
| WestJet | 23 kg50 lbTo and from Europe: overweight bags up to 32 kg (70 lb) | 157 cm total62 in total |
| Porter Airlines | 23 kg50 lb | 158 cm total62 in total |
| Flair Airlines | 23 kg50 lb | 158 cm total62 in total |
| Airline | First bag | Second bag | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Air Canada | CA$45–CA$54 with tax | CA$60–CA$72 with tax | Economy Basic and Standard, within Canada and to or from the U.S., Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, tickets bought on or after 13 April 2026 |
| WestJet | CA$45–CA$53 prepaid, CA$70–CA$83 at the airport | CA$60–CA$71 prepaid, CA$85–CA$100 at the airport | Econo and Member Exclusive fares, flights within Canada and the U.S. |
| Porter Airlines | CA$50–CA$63.25 at booking, CA$60–CA$80.50 at the airport | CA$65–CA$80.50 at booking, CA$75–CA$97.75 at the airport | Basic and Standard fares, Canada and the U.S., reservations made on or after 7 May 2026 |
| Flair Airlines | CA$69–CA$119 at booking, CA$109–CA$164 at the gate | CA$69–CA$164 at booking, CA$109–CA$279 at the gate | Per bag, per flight, tax included; the Plus and Pro bundles include one 23 kg bag |
Airline by airline
Questions
What size carry-on do airlines in Canada allow?
Air Canada, Porter and Flair take carry-ons up to 55 × 40 × 23 cm; WestJet 56 × 36 × 23 cm. Wheels and handles count toward the size.
Is there a weight limit for carry-ons in Canada?
One sets a weight limit: Flair 10 kg. Air Canada, WestJet and Porter give no weight limit.
Which airline in Canada allows the biggest carry-on?
Air Canada, Porter and Flair: 55 × 40 × 23 cm, about 51 litres. On Flair it’s a paid extra.
Is the small under-seat bag free?
Yes, on every airline here. On Flair the under-seat bag is the only free one: the carry-on costs extra.
Sources
- Air Canada: Carry-on baggage (checked 30 October 2026)
- Air Canada: Checked baggage (checked 30 October 2026)
- Air Canada: Fees related to baggage and optional services (checked 30 October 2026)
- Air Canada: Baggage fee changes (checked 30 October 2026)
- WestJet: Carry-on baggage (checked 30 October 2026)
- WestJet: Baggage (checked 30 October 2026)
- WestJet: Service fees (checked 30 October 2026)
- Porter Airlines: Carry-on baggage (checked 2 November 2026)
- Porter Airlines: Checked baggage (checked 2 November 2026)
- Porter Airlines: Optional services and fees (checked 2 November 2026)
- Porter Airlines: Our fare options (checked 2 November 2026)
- Porter Airlines: Seats, baggage and other add-ons FAQ (checked 2 November 2026)
- Flair Airlines: Baggage info (checked 2 November 2026)
- Flair Airlines: Bundles (checked 2 November 2026)
Airline rules change. Spotted a figure that no longer matches the airline’s website? Tell us; corrections are logged on the sources page.